Electrick Children Soundtrack
Electrick Children

Electrick Children Soundtrack

Regular price $5.00

Electrick Children, the film: Pregnant by music? On her 15th birthday, Rachel, a young Mormon girl from a fundamentalist Utah community, discovers a forbidden cassette tape with rock music on it. Having never heard anything like it, she has a miraculous experience and three months later, claims to have had an immaculate conception from listening to the music. Her parents arrange a marriage, but Rachel runs away to the closest city, LAS VEGAS, to search for the man who sings on the tape, thinking he has something to do with her mysterious pregnancy.  

Electrick Children, the soundtrack: The music for Electrick Children comes largely from the catalog of Team Love Records  This includes a hip-hop artist and a surf-rock inspired indie rock band from Omaha, NE (Mars Black and Capgun Coup), a father/son psychedelic rock band from the outskirts of El Paso (Refried Ice Cream) and a guitar picking skinny boy from Birmingham AL (Taylor Hollingsworth).  Then there’s Top of the Hill by the cosmic and ethereal Conduits, a track that is perhaps most associated with the film due to its inclusion in both the trailer and the closing-credits.  Another Team Love artist on the soundtrack, Flowers Forever, is present with their cover of Hanging On The Telephone, a song that provides the vital plot point to the film’s narrative. The rest of the songs on the soundtrack do not stray too far from the Team Love stables: Cursive, perhaps Omaha’s greatest and most successful rock band on the last few decades, Bloodletters and CCB from the New Paltz area and Nona from Los Angeles, who’s contribution is also prominently featured in the film.  Finally, two tracks not featured in the film’s final cut but deep in the film’s DNA come from Glasgow’s Zoey Van Goey and remix artists Enso who provide a very trance-heavy euphoric twist to the Conduits track Misery Train.   Electrick Children, a film that provides a gentle foil to many of last year’s critically acclaimed and heavier works, was the singular vision of first time director and writer Rebecca Thomas. Her desire to provide the film with a soundtrack full of yet-to-be discovered, melodious and diverse songs was met by the eclectic artists affiliated with the Team Love record label.  This soundtrack is a demonstration of a process, of turning film and music in to a singular experience, of making a song a character of potent potential and magical possibility.


  1. Conduits: Top of the Hill 4:01
  2. Flowers Forever: Hanging On The Telephone 1:59
  3. Refried Ice Cream : Vampires 5:50
  4. Mars Black: Scotch On The Rocks 3:27
  5. Cursive: A Gentleman Caller 3:19
  6. Capgun Coup: Computer Screens and TVs 2:08
  7. CCB: Beacon 3:43
  8. Nona: Ghost Outside of My Hands 4:32
  9. Bloodletters: Fine Line 4:02
  10. Taylor Hollingsworth: Keep Comin’ Back 3:46
  11. Zoey Van Goey: The Best Treasure Stays Buried 3:37
  12. Conduits: Misery Train (Enso Remix) 6:49


Share this Product

More from this collection