Rig 1 - North of Maple
Rig 1

Rig 1 - North of Maple

Regular price $10.00

Purchase album here on Bandcamp.

The diagonal figure that is Rig 1 works in a medium some call rap, but it's only a launch pad for his sounds...his relationship with Curiosity started the minute the heat shield was jettisoned. He's looking into the center of rap to find out if there was ever life before art, he breathes that red dust and confirms his suspicions. He jots it down on a napkin, tells K1 to take it down a notch, gives the woman who runs the Church a goodbye hug and mutters to himself in the rain, sex and salt addicts get out of my way. It's time to go to school people. There's a gang of course, a support crew; a posse that keeps the spaceship moving: Clark Baechle doesn't make beats, he writes code for robots that transform into drum machines when they leave the bar...Jacob and Dapose from the Faint are here, as is Walcott, the maestro who offends entire philharmonics with his 4th dimensional charts that twist like vines around Mayan time machines. The vocal purr of Orenda Fink and the planet-naming Fairchild Fairchild (how are you man) both contribute to the soup. And keeping the whole thing from spinning out of orbit is Andy LeMaster, not so much a producer, but a product of his own heat-soaked fantasy of what music needs to sound like if the aliens are ever going make a pit stop on our rock. Headphones on, tennis rackets down... enjoy this record. It's not like you will get a second chance on this ball of evil to think outside all the boxes at once.

Ian McElroy is an American MC born and raised in Omaha, Nebraska, currently living in NYC. He has been writing & recording music since childhood, performing with bands such as Desaparecidos and Rig 1, his main musical outlet for over a decade.

The second release from Rig 1, North of Maple will be released May 13, 2014 on Team Love records.


  1. Cousin Connection 3:53
  2. Mindfucker 3:38
  3. Walking Zombie 3:59
  4. Intent 3:40
  5. Mouthtrosity 4:04
  6. Diagonal Figurine - Jimmy Utah 3:39
  7. Duality 3:00
  8. He's Fleshing Out 3:07
  9. Word Salad Dressing 2:27
  10. Habits 3:02

Share this Product

More from this collection